West Texas Walk of Fame

The West Texas Walk of Fame began as a tribute to Rock and Roll legend Buddy Holly in the late 70's. Larry Corbin and Jerry Coleman were in Nashville visiting their singer/songwriter friend Waylon Jennings. Waylon brought up the subject of recognizing Buddy Holly. This conversation culminated into a concept of honoring the growing list of famous artists and musicians who had come from West Texas. As interest grew, Grant Speed was commissioned to create the heroic sized statue of Buddy Holly. In 1979, a concert was held to help pay for the statue, and a plaque was placed around the base to honor the first inductee of the Walk of Fame, Lubbock's own Buddy Holly. A second concert was held in 1980 and Littlefield's Waylon Jennings became the next inductee. In 1983, Civic Lubbock, Inc. picked up the torch and mounted the dedication plaque and the induction plaques of Buddy Holly and Waylon Jennings. They also nominated Mac Davis as the next inductee and developed a criteria for future nominees. From its early beginning until today, the names of many musicians, artists, actors and entertainers have been honored in The West Texas Walk of Fame.